Options

Bad Wedding Lighting

DmanningDmanning Registered Users Posts: 88 Big grins
edited February 26, 2008 in Finishing School
I was recently a second photographer at a wedding and had the "joy" of being in quite the hideously lighted church, IMHO. As you can see we have a massive string of lights at the bride and groom, and in the foreground we have open windows letting in a decent amount of light.

What techinque should be used to compensate for multiple color temps in a single frame post and or pre processing?

I've been using photoshop for 10+ years but I've never come across this situation. Any tricks and tips are greatly appreciated.

img_9198.jpg

-D Manning

Comments

• Options
    TravisTravis Registered Users Posts: 1,472 Major grins
    edited February 23, 2008
    Multiple light temp sources create a nearly impossible correction task. I would select the focal point and its dominating color temp as the basis for the image. In the case of the photo that you provided, I would concentrate on the bride/groom as my point for color balance. It will throw the pews out of balance. Depending on how bad, you can try burning in those areas which should minimize the noticeable color shift while also bringing the viewers focus to the real subject. Good luck!
  • Options
    DonRicklinDonRicklin Registered Users Posts: 5,551 Major grins
    edited February 23, 2008
    I'm no PScs Guru, but could not something be one with layers. Using ACR or LR, do two copies. One with WB for the Foreground and one with WB for where the B&G are. The do a sort of HDR composite with Layers and Masking.

One might just get away with something like that.

:D

Don
    Don Ricklin - Gear: Canon EOS 5D Mark III, was Pentax K7
    'I was older then, I'm younger than that now' ....
    My Blog | Q+ | Moderator, Lightroom Forums | My Amateur Smugmug Stuff | My Blurb book Rust and Whimsy. More Rust , FaceBook
  • Options
    pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,698 moderator