5D on Soccer...

rwellsrwells Registered Users Posts: 6,084 Major grins
edited February 26, 2008 in Sports
Although I did not buy the 5D for sports photography, I just had to give it a test run.

Since I shoot sports for a living, and most everyone said that the 5D is not a good sports camera, well, you knew I was gonna see!

NOTE: I could care less if a body shoots 10fps or 3fps. I rarely use burst mode. (Albeit, if one wanted to shoot burst, 3fps is a joke for sports)

First:
I give the 5D good marks for high ISO noise levels.

Second:
I'm VERY impressed with how I can shoot all the way down field at high ISO, then do a MAJOR crop, and still wind up with a very good photograph.

Third:
The colors and saturation are nice.

Here's a few shots. All shot with Canon 70-200 f/2.8L IS with 1.4TC

ISO-1600 --- f/4 --- 1/1000
257960514_9yoFG-L.jpg

ISO-1600 --- f/4 --- 1/400
257954574_tUn7U-L.jpg

ISO-1600 --- f/4 --- 1/500
257954506_TLeUL-L.jpg

ISO-1600 --- f/4 --- 1/800
257953932_Rqfw6-L.jpg

ISO-1600 --- f/4 --- 1/1000
257954081_vnswD-L.jpg

ISO-800 --- f/4 --- 1/1600
257960532_PjYwc-L.jpg

ISO-1600 --- f/4 --- 1/200 (X-sync) w/580EX
257954799_VSZX4-L.jpg

Anyway, just thought I would share.
Randy

Comments

• jonh68jonh68 Registered Users Posts: 2,711 Major grins
    edited February 23, 2008
    Hey, I though you were not supposed to crank up the ISO when shooting sports outside. j/k

Nice shots!
  • rwellsrwells Registered Users Posts: 6,084 Major grins
    edited February 23, 2008
    jonh68 wrote:
    Hey, I though you were not supposed to crank up the ISO when shooting sports outside. j/k

Nice shots!

1. I was testing

2. Notice from the EXIF data. There wasn't that much light on several. Even at 1/400 ~ 1/500 you get motion blur on the extremities. Whatcha' gonna do bout that? --- Crank up the ISO!

3. The 5D has excellent high ISO images.

Thanks for looking Jon.
    Randy
    edited February 23, 2008