Motorcycle racing

canonguycanonguy Registered Users Posts: 145 Major grins
edited August 31, 2006 in Sports
Some pics from my day at the motorcyle track. I would love some feedback on these. I have no experience shooting action, especially action this fast. Very challenging but great fun.

18130044-M.jpg

18130465-M.jpg

18130469-M.jpg

18130470-M.jpg

18130064-M.jpg

18130474-M.jpg

Comments

• Steve CaviglianoSteve Cavigliano Super Moderators Posts: 3,599 moderator
    edited March 26, 2005
    Kirk,

I think you did really well for first time out thumb.gifthumb.gif Some of them, like the 4th one are really good clap.gif

The faces are dark in most of them, but it looks like you were fighting against tinted visors :uhoh So I don't know what you could have done differently ne_nau.gif
    I like the wheel motion and the exposures all look good. A few look just a touch soft. Could be due to shake or just getting used to the panning motion/speed. But, most are nice and sharp thumb.gif

Hopefully Brandon (Bones) or Andrew (MacZippy) will chime in on this one and give you some Pro level tips :D

Thanks for sharing,
    Steve
    SmugMug Support Hero
  • BBonesBBones Registered Users Posts: 580 Major grins
    edited March 26, 2005
    definately nice for a first time, can I ask what settings you were using and which lens?
  • canonguycanonguy Registered Users Posts: 145 Major grins
    edited March 29, 2005
    BBones wrote:
    definately nice for a first time, can I ask what settings you were using and which lens?
    I was shooting apature priority using a 75-300 IS USM canon lens. Most of time I was shooting at f8.0 and fully extended at 300mm. This lens is not super sharp, but mostly the action is fast.
    edited March 29, 2005
    Here are a couple more
    I processed these a little diferently. I close cropped, dropped the saturation a bit and increased contrast for a sharper picture.

18279017-M.jpg

18279005-M.jpg

18279020-M.jpg

18279019-M.jpg