Working on getting eyes in sharp focus

itsaduckitsaduck Registered Users Posts: 42 Big grins
edited March 5, 2008 in People
I've had a hard time with it with my new 40D (and my old rebel, maybe it's me). Oh, and I'm always trying to catch a 4, 3, 2, 1 year old so maybe I should find some more serene subjects. Anyway, here are two of today's attempts.
#1 Her screen left eye still looks a little fuzzy. (oh, and don't mind the hair, she's a twister)

261645772_JKad8-L.jpg

261645121_qW6ww-L.jpg

Any insight welcome. I'm shooting with a 40D, EF28-135mm, 1/60, f5.6, and a 580EX bounced off the ceiling. I'm new to the 40D so any thoughts on that are also appreciated.

Cheers-

Comments

• SwartzySwartzy Registered Users Posts: 3,293 Major grins
    edited March 3, 2008
    Increase
    your DOF to at least f/7.1 which in turn you may need to add +1/3 EV flash.....shoot in Manual mode and try ISO 640 to 800...up your shutter speed to 1/80 to 1/100....don't worry about the noise...get the exposure correct by riding the flash EV....once that's accomplished you'll have both eyes in focus and can simply run the image through noise ninja/neat image/remove noise filter, CS3.

Also....it looks as though there is a tad bit of camera/subject shake....IS is on? and up your shutter speed..you'll see a big difference.thumb.gif
    Swartzy:
    NAPP Member | Canon Shooter
    Weddings/Portraits and anything else that catches my eye.
    www.daveswartz.com
    Model Mayhem site http://www.modelmayhem.com/686552
  • CarnalSighCarnalSigh Registered Users Posts: 152 Major grins
    edited March 4, 2008
    Itsaduck.....Don't feel lonely.....my 40D (with the same lens that u use) behaves (focus-wise) totally different than my xti. It is taking me some time to adjust to that, as well as some of the features I'm not accustomed to relying on. But slowly they are coming around.