First Attempts

TomdTomd Registered Users Posts: 4 Beginner grinner
edited March 17, 2008 in Landscapes
Hi!

I've only had my EOS 400D for a couple of weeks so I'm still trying to get to grips with it. I'm still waiting on photoshop so these are straight from the camera. All shot using the kit lens.

Here's a few of my first attempts from a weekend away last week, C&C welcome but go easy as I'm a complete beginner when it comes to photography.

2317746053_d7168e5cc9.jpg?v=0

2316646903_b9a2dabbfc.jpg?v=0

2316688669_e895a4e104.jpg?v=0

2317524046_1ae2120141.jpg?v=0
Yep, I know its not level :giggle

2317465618_e510ab540a.jpg?v=0

Got a few filters on the way and a copy of PS to play with so I'll be able to do a bit of 'tweaking' etc to get them looking a bit better.

Thanks for looking, I've been reading a lot of usefull info on here which I'm sure will help me 'get my eye in' sooner or later!.

T

Comments

• summerzsummerz Registered Users Posts: 494 Major grins
    edited March 16, 2008
    Welcome
    Very nice, I like the shadows effects.thumb.gif And the use of light.
  • schmooschmoo Registered Users Posts: 8,468 Major grins
    edited March 16, 2008
    Hi Tom, welcome to Dgrin! wave.gif

This is a great set, especially if you say you're a raw beginner? Great sharpness and I think you have a good eye. I think it is obvious that you have the hang of your camera, which is the most important thing. thumb.gif

Really the only thing that I would nitpick about over these shots is how centered everything is. You clearly know how to make the images appealing to the eye in terms of lines and shapes, but putting the subject plunk in the center of the frame makes it much less powerful/interesting to the viewer.

A wonderful start! Good luck learning on PS and of course if you have questions and need feedback feel free to chime in on the forum! :D
  • TomdTomd Registered Users Posts: 4 Beginner grinner
    edited March 17, 2008