Third Daughter Session . . . Am I Getting Better?

harrylewharrylew Registered Users Posts: 37 Big grins
edited March 18, 2008 in People
Hi, all,

I've only posted on here twice, but each time, you gave me some great ideas to try. I'm not a pro, but I would love to take better pictures of my daughter and other family members.

Based on prior input, for this session I was determined to get more light on my daughter's face, without using flash. So I fooled around with a reflector. . . a really high-tech one, a piece of white typing paper!! I held it with one hand trying to bounce light on to the far side of her face, while holding the camera with the other hand. This was very impromptu. Next time, I'm going to use a more rigid piece of white card, so I don't have to finagle with it quite so much.

I also wanted to improve my white balance. So I went out and bought an Expodisc and learned how to use it (I think!). I believe the quality of skin color is much better this time. But you tell me.

Finally, I wanted to try position her face in some different ways, avoiding my typical centered approach.

So . . . how'd I do?

FYI: equipment is a Sony A700 DSLR, with a 50 1.7 lens. The lens is one sweet portrait lens, in my opinion.

In case you want to see the prior posts, go here:
http://dgrin.com/showthread.php?t=86610

and

http://dgrin.com/showthread.php?t=86821

Ok, here are the new pics:

266558243_Bob3u-L.jpg

266558303_oyM8q-L.jpg

266558166_fTozV-L.jpg

266558211_PyKKo-L.jpg
Harry
"Too many lenses, not enough time."

Comments

• harrylewharrylew Registered Users Posts: 37 Big grins
    edited March 16, 2008
    Whoops, forget to include this link to prior session
    The following post is most comparable to what I just posted. I meant to include it in the original post. Sorry.

http://dgrin.com/showthread.php?t=87129
    harrylew wrote:
    Hi, all,