I am a newbie..HELP!

kyeeziekyeezie Registered Users Posts: 290 Major grins
edited March 20, 2008 in Cameras
Hello all. I am a new to the photography world. I am trying to learn about equipment and stuff that I should have. I do not consider myslef a professional photographer but would like to give it a try:wink I am young with minimum amount of money to spend on my new habbit and right now my budget called for a Nikon D40. I am trying to figure out what lenses I can get to extend my range. Other than have the same size, what else would I need to look for? And does anyone have any good advice for any inexpensive products, let me know. Thanks to all of you for your help. I read more than post but you guys take great pictures and are very helpful.:bow

Comments

• HarrybHarryb Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 22,708 Major grins
    edited March 18, 2008
    The first bit of help is to move this thread to the cameras forum. :D
    Harry
    http://behret.smugmug.com/ NANPA member
    How many photographers does it take to change a light bulb? 50. One to change the bulb, and forty-nine to say, "I could have done that better!"
  • BPerronBPerron Registered Users Posts: 464 Major grins
    edited March 18, 2008
    If you are on a budget, I would not get the nikon d40...due to you needing to purchase lenses that have the focusing in the lens itself, which is a fairly new thing for nikon, so lenses are very expensive. If you went with a d50 body used you have many, many more options for lenses both Nikon made and made by other companies. I have seen nikon d50 bodies go for 300-350.

As for other equipment, it really depends on what you want to do...
    Brandon Perron Photography
    www.brandonperron.com
  • eyusufeyusuf Registered Users Posts: 236 Major grins
    edited March 19, 2008
    does it have to be nikon?