First Headshots

PhilCollumPhilCollum Registered Users Posts: 111 Major grins
edited March 20, 2008 in People
I'm just starting to learn some very basic portrait photography, and was asked to take some headshots/portraits of my mother. She wanted them mainly for some political ads. (She's runing for local city council - Now that she's retired she has WAY too much time on her hands, it seems!) :D She also wanted a few for her own personal keepsakes. And gave me about 2 days notice to get it done. Yikes!!

This is the first time I've ever tried posed portraits, and these are a few of what I came up with. Excuse the goofy poses, clothing choices, etc. My mother is quite a demanding lady. I love her more than anything, but she definately "knows what she wants" and is as stubborn as I am about getting it!! :wink

Anyway, portraiture has never been a strong point for me, but is something I'm trying to learn. I'm really looking for some good, ol'fashioned, harsh constructive critisism here. So any and all C&C would be most welcome!

1. 267587172_ZMAnU-L.jpg

2. 267587359_cdLdi-L.jpg

3. 267588448_YUhSN-M.jpg

4. 267587508_hNhUr-M.jpg

5. 267588584_9vAP6-L.jpg

6. 267588288_ZtFiy-L.jpg

Thanks for looking. You guys are awsome.
Phil Collum
Phil Collum Photography
San Diego, CA, USA
Equipment list in my profile

Comments

• AgnieszkaAgnieszka Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 3,263 Major grins
    edited March 19, 2008
    Hi there.

Haha, I have one of thse moms aswell iloveyou.gif

#1: I would have tried to tell her to turn her body a bit, so one shoulder is more in the front. I think straight on photos like this look a bit too "harsh"

#2: Haha, not sure if it's a city council-shot, but she sure looks like a model rolleyes1.gif

#3: Not sure about this one, maybe it's the light/flash .... headscratch.gif