Polarizing filters questions...

SeamaidenSeamaiden Registered Users Posts: 339 Major grins
edited March 30, 2004 in Accessories
Should I remain married to the Olympus line, or is it "safe" to test the waters of other manufacturers? Also, I have been doing some reading, and it seems that there exist polarizers that are linear and circular (I love the qualities polarizing light lends to photos, if I can figure out how to scan the slides, I'll post some pix my father took when I was a teen - photomicrographical shots of crystals grown on glass slides), and while I've always insisted on polarized lenses for my sunglasses, and know how to test for polarization in such lenses, I'm completely new to the concept of this circular polarization. Therefore, I'm not clear on the pros and cons of each. Price differences? Overall quality differences?

I have found during my exploits searching my father's old darkroom some filters and lenses that fit my 55mm adapter. They were purchased and used for 35mm SLR use.
  • Two neutral density filters, both Tiffens, one ND 0.3, one 0.6.
  • Also have a Vivitar skylight filter (1A), but when I tilt it at certain angles it appears that there are flaws in the coating, right on one edge. Trash?
  • One Hoya HMC UV(0) filter, fits my adapter perfectly, appears to be in good condition.
  • A STARSIX filter (plan on playing a lot with that), again, Hoya.
  • Add to the list of what appears to be useful filters something that's marked "Hoya FL-W", what be this beast?
  • One Vivitar Macro adapter, +10 (useful with a digicam with its own macro mode?).
  • One soft focus filter that requires two retaining rings, as it's loose (just a metal frame around it). I may play with this, as it seems lots of you folks believe that I can't do many things with GIMP that can be done with Photoshop, so I'd like to play with this stuff. This metal band says on the soft focus filter says "HARRISON DIFFUSION D-3 SIZE #4 USA".