Should I get the D80 or save up for the D200?

CoobieCoobie Registered Users Posts: 3 Beginner grinner
edited March 25, 2008 in Cameras
Hello all! First post on the site so go easy on me!!:D

I am somewhat new to photography. I bought a D40 and loved it. I was shooting full manual and taking some decent shots (at least I thought so!). I felt the need to upgrade and just sold my D40 setup. I want to upgrade and thought that I was just going to step into the D80, but Ive been looking more and more at the D200. Its a bit more $$, but I really like it.

I'm not a baller so I dont have $$ to throw away. Should I wait and get the D200 or get the D80 and focus on good glass???

Thanks in advance for your advice!:thumb

Matt

Comments

• IcebearIcebear Registered Users Posts: 4,015 Major grins
    edited March 24, 2008
    Coobie wrote:
    go easy on me!!:D

Not gonna happen

Thanks in advance for your advice!thumb.gif

Matt

Well, if you'd asked the question BEFORE you sold your D40, I'd agree that "thanks" was in advance.

I shoot with a D200, and am in the process of getting a D300. That being said, my advice is, if you can't afford a D300, go with the D80 and better glass. That is, of course, unless you tend to brutalize your equipment. In that case the magnesium construction of the D200 may be worth it.
    John :
    Natural selection is responsible for every living thing that exists.
    D3s, D500, D5300, and way more glass than the wife knows about.
  • swintonphotoswintonphoto Registered Users Posts: 1,664 Major grins
    edited March 24, 2008
    Icebear wrote:
    go with the D80 and better glass.

15524779-Ti.gif

Get some good glass - will do more for you in my opinion if you are on a budget than having a D200 with sub-par glass.
  • jonh68jonh68 Registered Users Posts: 2,711 Major grins
    edited March 25, 2008
    D80 and better glass.