Comments

• Options
    papajaypapajay Registered Users Posts: 441 Major grins
    edited April 1, 2008
    Osprey wrote:
    Any one try the WhiBal?

Works great.

WWW.WhiBal.com

Also there is great educational stuff on topics from Lightroom to Raw shooting

Mention my name "Roger Galburt" and you might get free shipping or something.

This guy is v e r y knowledgeable about technical stuff having to do with anything Digital

Have fun :D:D:D

Thanks for this link....I viewed all the turtorial videos and found them helpful for my non-pro understanding of WB.

It would be fascinating to see a head-to-head comparison of the same photos/equipment/lighting/conditions using the WhiBal card versus using Chris's snap-on thingy (with and without sticky-flash gels).

I'm sure there are other competitive products out there, but the Dgrin threads have introduced me to these two, and even as a amateur I'm inclined to purchase either (or both) at this point.
  • Options
    Jennifer GriggJennifer Grigg Registered Users Posts: 2 Beginner grinner
    edited April 1, 2008
    I would love to see the expo disc tested with some of the various targets available, after tax time of course.

What would be the advantage to using a balance target with gray, white and black targets like Ed Pierce sells, as opposed to a straight digital gray card?

Aren't all targets designed to be white balanced once the photo is in the computer, depending on what software you use the dropper in?

That makes it seem like there is two schools of white balancing—

1. in camera, where raw or jpeg are usable

2. post-processing, where only raw is appropriate.

Great thread.thumb.gif

First post.
  • Options
    Scott_QuierScott_Quier Registered Users Posts: 6,524 Major grins
    edited April 2, 2008
    I would love to see the expo disc tested with some of the various targets available, after tax time of course.