Options

DOF questions and other help.. :)

JthmeffyJthmeffy Registered Users Posts: 48 Big grins
edited April 9, 2008 in Technique
I am extremely new to the photography world - Just got my first camera ever (40D).

I really have no idea what I am doing (slowly learning and all), but have restricted myself to mostly using manual settings for my shots. I think I have an understanding of shutter speed, I kinda get aperture, and I kinda get color temp (basically to make your whites white, correct?).. but I dont really get metering.. help?

Also, I am confused on Depth of Field.. For this pic, I used my 40D, the packaged 28-135mm lense, and my flash. 1/100th shutter, f/3.5, ISO 400, and my lense was at 28mm. I thought the background would be a little more out of focus.. were all of the background objects too close? Or could someone just help me out with shutter speed, aperture, metering, color temp... etc.. LOL, the manual doesnt help much at all beyond telling me how to set the values - As you can see, I just dont know much at all.

img1731reworkedoq5.png
Current Equipment: Canon EOS 5D Mark II, Canon EF 28 - 135 mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM / Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM / Canon EF 50mm f1.4 USM
Coming Soon: Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L IS USM / Canon Speedlite 430EX II / Good Tripod (Hopefully a Manfrotto with a ballhead)

Comments

• Options
    gregneilgregneil Registered Users Posts: 255 Major grins
    edited March 25, 2008
    Your depth of field is dependent on lens length, aperture, and the distance to your subject. I don't think I could explain it well from a technical standpoint, although I know others here can. Here's a couple links that might help:

Bob Atkins
    Wikipedia

In your shot, the background isn't very blurry because you're using a pretty wide angle, and you're a decent distance from the subject. You should play around with the depth of field calculator on Bob Atkin's website (or this one) to get a feel for how DOF is affected by different criteria.