photos for CC and a question

JulieLawsonPhotographyJulieLawsonPhotography Registered Users Posts: 787 Major grins
edited March 28, 2008 in People
First my question. I am constantly awed by the clarity and color of the shots I see on here. What am I doing wrong that I don't feel as if I am achieving that look. Part of me thinks it's just me thinking that my pics stink, the other part thinks that maybe they really do. Anyway, would someone be willing to tell me what element I'm missing in my photo and/or any tips that would help me to achieve that "look"?

Now, on to the photos for CC

271079434_4Duvv-L.jpg
271079478_P4jhM-L.jpg
270166480_to4sd-L-1.jpg
270159049_p6T2A-L.jpg
271076034_zm2g5-L.jpg

Comments

• TravisTravis Registered Users Posts: 1,472 Major grins
    edited March 27, 2008
    Hey Julie,

I think we have all thought the same thing at one time or another (actually I think it on a daily basis! :D). I'm far from an expert but here's my feedback..

Photos 1 and 2 - I like the poses and composition, especially #1. The lighting is a bit one dimensional. A little more light on her face and hair would draw the viewer to her eyes and away from the background.

Photos 3 & 4 - The people are sharp and the lighting looks good but the background detracts from the image. I honestly believe that if you put more distance between them and the background and lowered the depth of field, the subjects would really stand out.

Photo 5 - I really like this photo. Main issue is the time of year (not easy to change on the fly headscratch.gif) causing the dead trees in the background to be a bit distracting.

I'm sure there are others here that can offer up some much better suggestions but I don't believe you are as far off as you think.
  • joshhuntnmjoshhuntnm Registered Users Posts: 1,924 Major grins
    edited March 28, 2008
    1, 2, and 5 i would try to drop the backroud out of focus. use a longer lense or bigger apeture.

Don't be too hard on yourself, the are nice.