High School Musical

mac81mac81 Registered Users Posts: 5 Beginner grinner
edited April 17, 2008 in Technique
This is my first time posting a thread, so if I'm not doing something right, please let me know.

My wife volunteered my services to the Musical in two weeks so I need some assistance on the setup of my camera.
I’m ok at taking action shots, but not so good at theater shots.
My gear consists of Nikon:
D50
18-55mm 3.5-5.6
70-300mm 4-5.6

50mm f/1.8D
85mm f/1.8D
70-200mm f/2.8 AF-S VR
SB-600
And I just purchased the D300 a couple of days ago. Still learning.

Last night I took some shots primarily with the 70-200mm and the shutter was too slow.
I did not use flash. I prefer not too, unless you tell me in order to get great shots I need to use a flash.
I tried all four setups, but obviously I’m not using the right combination.
By reading, it seems like I need to use the 50mm or 85mm.
Should I be using S, A, P, or M?
Should I be using auto ISO?
What f-stop?
With the D300 how much can one crank up the ISO and still how little or no noise?
Should I be focusing on their face? I’m used to focusing on the number of their jersey.

I have many questions, so I was hoping that you could answer some of them or send me in the right direction.
I have Wed & Thurs to practice some more before the dress rehearsal on Fri, Sat, & Sun.

P.S. What lens should I use for the cast photo? Only 55 cast members! Oh boy!

Any help would be appreciated.

Chris

Comments

• banbrobanbro Registered Users Posts: 18 Big grins
    edited April 1, 2008