First Photo With My 40D

dawssvtdawssvt Registered Users Posts: 413 Major grins
edited April 12, 2008 in People
I am very new to photography, so bare with me. I just got my 40D in today and I snapped a few pictures of one of my buddies. Only one turned out somewhat decent. My 430EX comes in tomorrow, so this was taken without a flash

C&C Welcome...

IMG_4120_edited-1Large.jpg

Website
My Smugmug

My Canon Gear:
5DMII | 24-105mm f/4L | 45mm TS/E | 135mm f/2.0L | 70-200mm f/2.8L IS | 50mm f/1.4
| 580EX II & 430EX

Comments

• DonRicklinDonRicklin Registered Users Posts: 5,551 Major grins
    edited April 11, 2008
    I'm thinking the WB (White Balance) is off here. Shot in Tungsten light?

Looks like you have plenty of available light there. Just wrong WB and too frontal.
    Don
    Don Ricklin - Gear: Canon EOS 5D Mark III, was Pentax K7
    'I was older then, I'm younger than that now' ....
    My Blog | Q+ | Moderator, Lightroom Forums | My Amateur Smugmug Stuff | My Blurb book Rust and Whimsy. More Rust , FaceBook
  • dawssvtdawssvt Registered Users Posts: 413 Major grins
    edited April 11, 2008
    DonRicklin wrote:
    I'm thinking the WB (White Balance) is off here. Shot in Tungsten light?

Looks like you have plenty of available light there. Just wrong WB and too frontal.
    Don

What is Tungsten light? The room was somewhat dark - it was shot at 640 ISO.

Website
    My Smugmug

My Canon Gear:
    5DMII | 24-105mm f/4L | 45mm TS/E | 135mm f/2.0L | 70-200mm f/2.8L IS | 50mm f/1.4
    | 580EX II & 430EX

edited April 11, 2008
    Indoor incandescent lighting. It is yellower than natural bright daylight.

Your 40D has a WB setting. for indoors w/o flash you have three possible settings. Auto WB which ought to see that it is tungsten lighting. Tungsten (or Fluorescent). or you do a custom WB. You should read up on this in your Camera Manual. Especially how to set a Custom WB.