Should I buy the Canon 5D?

parkermyersparkermyers Registered Users Posts: 40 Big grins
edited April 12, 2008 in Cameras
Has anyone heard any credible rumors whether or not Canon will be releasing a new Full Chip camera anytime soon? I am looking to upgrade from the XTi I have been using for about 1 1/2 yrs (12,000+ pics) to a full-chip camera.

I know I can't go wrong with the the 5D (right?), but would hate to spend big $$ only to have Canon release a new full-chip model loaded with bells and whistles in the near future.

Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 24,079 moderator
    edited April 11, 2008
    Has anyone heard any credible rumors whether or not Canon will be releasing a new Full Chip camera anytime soon? I am looking to upgrade from the XTi I have been using for about 1 1/2 yrs (12,000+ pics) to a full-chip camera.

I know I can't go wrong with the the 5D (right?), but would hate to spend big $$ only to have Canon release a new full-chip model loaded with bells and whistles in the near future.

Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

parkermyers,

"Credible rumors" would seem to be a non-sequitur. If it is a rumor it cannot be very credible. At best it might be a guess. OK, sometimes a company will "leak" information and it emerges as a rumor, but I can never rely on that imformation either because too often something is not right.

My best guess is that a Canon 5D replacement would be fairly expensive and that the 5D would still be considered a bargain. If you "need" the 5D now, get the 5D now.

What is it about the Canon 5D that you find attractive?
    ziggy53
    Moderator of the Cameras and Accessories forums
  • parkermyersparkermyers Registered Users Posts: 40 Big grins
    edited April 11, 2008
    ziggy53 wrote:
    What is it about the Canon 5D that you find attractive?