Melbourne

JwillJwill Registered Users Posts: 33 Big grins
edited April 13, 2008 in Landscapes
Hi, here are a couple of shots of my Melbourne experiences from this year. I'm a noob, so I'd love some constructive C+C.

Melbourne from the sky - I know, the horizon's not level, but I didn't want to cut the left side of the jet engine.
IMG_6420.jpg

The city at night - from a ferris wheel during the Moomba festival.
IMG_3910.jpg

Comments

• NeilLNeilL Registered Users Posts: 4,201 Major grins
    edited April 13, 2008
    I know Melbourne very well. I very much like the idea of the Moomba shot, good compositiona and the colors are really nice, but would have liked more sharpness, as well as being able to see a little more of the river and riverside buildings beyond the amusements. Bigger aperture, faster shutter, maybe (without knowing what you used). IS would have helped you a lot. You are doing pretty well for a newbie with a 40D, it seems to me. That camera demands a great deal of anyone who picks it up. It is definitely not a camera to be casually handled.
    "Snow. Ice. Slow!" "Half-winter. Half-moon. Half-asleep!"

http://www.behance.net/brosepix
  • JwillJwill Registered Users Posts: 33 Big grins
    edited April 13, 2008
    NeilL wrote:
    I know Melbourne very well. I very much like the idea of the Moomba shot, good compositiona and the colors are really nice, but would have liked more sharpness, as well as being able to see a little more of the river and riverside buildings beyond the amusements. Bigger aperture, faster shutter, maybe (without knowing what you used). IS would have helped you a lot. You are doing pretty well for a newbie with a 40D, it seems to me. That camera demands a great deal of anyone who picks it up. It is definitely not a camera to be casually handled.