clarity and sharpness help me

bellaphotobellaphoto Registered Users Posts: 100 Big grins
edited April 15, 2008 in Technique
Hello, i am a new photographer. i have done about 4 shoots now of children. although i get complimented on my work, some of the pictures don't come out tack sharp. i really have a problem with this. they don't really come out blurry. they just don't come out clear and i have to spen alot of time editing them and making them sharp! once in a while i get lucky and get a great sharp picture. i try to keep track of the settings i use. i have a new Nikon D40. i love it but i feel like maybe i should tade it in for a better camera. even though i think the error may be with me.
if anyone want to check out my slide show on my home page. you will see what i am talking about. mostly in the few last pictures i did of a little 2 year old toddler.

thanks for any input
http://www.rominasphotography.com

romina ludovico
:scratch
Romina Ludovico

Comments

• ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 24,065 moderator
    edited April 14, 2008
    Romina,

What lenses are you using?

What settings on the camera? (Sharpness, Contrast, Saturation, Autofocus, etc.)

What software do you use in post-processing?

What is a typical workflow?
    ziggy53
    Moderator of the Cameras and Accessories forums
  • bellaphotobellaphoto Registered Users Posts: 100 Big grins
    edited April 14, 2008
    i have the standard lens that came with the nikon D40 18-55mm
    and a 55-200mm lens. nothing fancy
    the settings i use are Auto, sometimes i switch it to aperture priority, i am still learning how to use my camera so i try alot of settings.

i use photoshop or picasa from google to fix the sharpness which works great but takes forever to edit all those pictures.

my workflow??? not sure what you mean byt that. i have only done a few shoots. pretty new at all this. i love to do and i am trying to learn as much as i can!

thanks for replying.
    romina
    ziggy53 wrote: