Options

Backpacking and Photography

pantherlaxpantherlax Registered Users Posts: 50 Big grins
edited April 17, 2008 in Technique
I'm going backpacking in the woods of either Delaware or Vermont in a week with about 4 friends. Its spring break of our senior year in highschool and instead of going to the beach down south and meeting girls, we are going to go backpacking but thats ok because I'm really excited for it lol.

Its my first time backpacking, but I've been shooting for two years.

Now question: backpacking with a camera.

1) In addition to my pack, I plan to carry my camera bag with me, a small backpack thatll include body, 18-70mm and 50mm 1.8. However I just weighed it all combined with bag and it weighs 5lbs, and 2 lbs just the bag. I've read and undestand how every pound is important and makes a difference. Should I keep it safe and bring it with my bag or is there a safe way to store my lens and camera?

2) We are going for about 2 or 3 nights. Will i be tempted to bring a tripod? If so how should i take it with me?

3) Although when i go out to shoot in general i just shoot whatever catches my eye and shoot anything instead of looking for something specific before hand. But this being one of our last highschool memories and having no experience backpacking i cant really picture what kind of situations and scenes i will encounter other than the nice landscape and nature shots. I dont kno what i am looking for as a response in this question lol but maybe someone can give me a sense of what our camp, our backpacking will be like.

Its kinda long i guess, but please read the bold for the straight to the point question.

Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    achambersachambers Registered Users Posts: 255 Major grins
    edited April 16, 2008