fast lens

bellaphotobellaphoto Registered Users Posts: 100 Big grins
edited April 21, 2008 in Cameras
Hello, i am new to photography, i own a Nikon D40 SLR, i photograph alot of childrens outdoor candid shots, etc.. they move fast so i am asking what is the best lens to use for children on the move. i would be chasing them alot so its hard to use a tripod. i need some tips on sharp , focused photos when it comes to shooting children outdoors. any suggesttions on tips and lenses!!!! nothing too expensive please.

thanks again :)

romina ludovico
http://www.rominasphotography.com
Romina Ludovico

Comments

• BPerronBPerron Registered Users Posts: 464 Major grins
    edited April 21, 2008
    bellaphoto wrote:
    Hello, i am new to photography, i own a Nikon D40 SLR, i photograph alot of childrens outdoor candid shots, etc.. they move fast so i am asking what is the best lens to use for children on the move. i would be chasing them alot so its hard to use a tripod. i need some tips on sharp , focused photos when it comes to shooting children outdoors. any suggesttions on tips and lenses!!!! nothing too expensive please.

thanks again :)

romina ludovico
    http://www.rominasphotography.com

Well the f1.4 or f1.8 50mm and 80mm lenses is what most people shoot kids with...The issue is that nikon does not offer these in AF-S lenses, so you would have to manual focus them...I would look at something aftermarket Sigma has some HSM lenses which will focus on the d40, d40x and d60. For people I have the sigma 18-50mm f2.8 that I bought used for 350.00, it seems to be a good lens, fairly fast and good in low light. If you can wait a while sigma is coming out with a HSM lens that is f1.4 50mm...so that should be an exciting lens.
    Brandon Perron Photography
    www.brandonperron.com
  • DoctorItDoctorIt Administrators Posts: 11,951 moderator
    edited April 21, 2008