camera upgrade

bellaphotobellaphoto Registered Users Posts: 100 Big grins
edited April 25, 2008 in Cameras
i use a Nikon D40, i love it but i want to step up to something with higher megapixal, resolution etc. i need it to be fast, simple to use,
I photograph children and they move around alot, i also photograph outdoors so something under $1000 would be great. any suggestions. i am new to all of this and only been photographing for a year. i love my camera but my pictures don't come out sharp and as focused as i would like. and there are sooooo many to choose from i get so confused.
i love autofocus and i would love to do close up shots that come out tack sharp and detailed........thanks

romina

http://www.rominasphotography.com
Romina Ludovico

Comments

• PineapplePhotoPineapplePhoto Registered Users Posts: 474 Major grins
    edited April 22, 2008
    get a D80? and a 50mm f1.4 lens?

pictures being blurry is not just the camera.
    Body: Canon 1D Mark II N | Canon 30D w/BG-E2 Flash: Canon 580EX II | Quantum T4d | Strobes & Monolights
    Glass: Sigma 70-200 f2.8 | Sigma 20 f1.8 | Canon 28-135 f3.5-5.6 IS USM
  • HarrybHarryb Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 22,708 Major grins
    edited April 22, 2008
    You can get used D200s for a lot less than $1000 now. However if you're not getting sharp images from the D40 I have to tell you its not the camera. I would try to master the D40 before I moved up to a more complex camera.

Maybe could you post a couple of the images you're not happy with along with theri EXIF data.
    Harry
    http://behret.smugmug.com/ NANPA member
    How many photographers does it take to change a light bulb? 50. One to change the bulb, and forty-nine to say, "I could have done that better!"
  • SloYerRollSloYerRoll Registered Users Posts: 2,788 Major grins
    edited April 22, 2008
    Harryb wrote:
    You can get used D200s for a lot less than $1000 now.
    15524779-Ti.gif