Options

Aperture 2 / RAW problem...

ElcarterosElcarteros Registered Users Posts: 3 Beginner grinner
edited January 24, 2009 in Finishing School
Im not sure if this is the right place to post, But...

I am new to RAW format so I am shooting JPEG and sRAW images to get used to RAW manipulation.

Upon my first import into Aperture 2, I have all these blacked out .CR2 images that will not open, and also some images that show a thumbnail of "unsupported image format".

What is a .CR2 image, and how do I get Aperture to recognize it?

Help Please!!!

Comments

• Options
    MarkRMarkR Registered Users Posts: 2,099 Major grins
    edited April 23, 2008
    .CR2 is one of many RAW formats.

It may be that you need to update your OS to the latest version-- Aperture uses OS X's built-in RAW capabilities to view RAW files. This gets updated as Apple updates their OS.

The workaround would be to convert your .CR2 files to Adobe's DNG. DNG is a standardized Raw format that was designed to deal with this very problem.
  • Options
    CatOneCatOne Registered Users Posts: 957 Major grins
    edited April 23, 2008
    You didn't mention what camera. .CR2 is not specific enough.

Aperture supports the RAW files from every Canon Digital SLR I'm aware of, save the new XSi (aka 450D). Given past history, I'd expect support for that camera will come along soon enough (it's brand new).

The only thing Aperture does *not* support is the sRAW format (which is a truncated RAW file). Are you really shooting sRAW? If so, I have to wonder why... it's like a 3 megapixel image size. Why give up all the sensor resolution for something that's no faster to shoot than a full-sized RAW?

Anyway if you're shooting sRAW that's your problem.

I don't agree with the previous comment to convert stuff to DNG... that's not likely to be necessary.
  • Options
    MarkRMarkR Registered Users Posts: 2,099 Major grins
    edited April 23, 2008
    CatOne wrote: