Options

outdoor FAMILY portraits

bellaphotobellaphoto Registered Users Posts: 100 Big grins
edited April 24, 2008 in Technique
HELP, i have a Family Photo shoot coming up in June of about 10 people and a group photo of about 20, i have been practicing with friends but i can't see to get the lighting down. i try to follow the advise about early morning or late afternoon, early evening. i love in florida and have done a family shoot yeatserday at around 7:30, i get shadows and darkness, the sun was beautiful but i can't see to get nice shots! i am new to all this, any suggestions, tutorials, i use a nikon D40, i tried different settings and iso speeds, i maybe got 4 good shots out of 80!!!
and i have a problem with filling the frame, it always seems they are too far away, or to close and cut off even though it does nt seem that way in the viewfinder.!!!!!!!
:cry
what am i doing wrong. any easy tutorials i can read......
romina
Romina Ludovico

Comments

• Options
    PhilCollumPhilCollum Registered Users Posts: 111 Major grins
    edited April 23, 2008
    I think, without more information, the possible solutions are endless. ne_nau.gif If you can post a couple of your test pics, I'm sure you'll get a lot of great suggestions from the folks around here.
    Phil Collum
    Phil Collum Photography
    San Diego, CA, USA
    Equipment list in my profile
  • Options
    edited April 23, 2008
    lighting
    here is one, i will try to post more tonight, this is a sample but i already edited it. thanks
    hoep i downloaded it correctly, never posted a pic before

4782662_X2CEN#283917227_xHJza-A-LB

PhilCollum wrote:
    I think, without more information, the possible solutions are endless. ne_nau.gif If you can post a couple of your test pics, I'm sure you'll get a lot of great suggestions from the folks around here.
    Romina Ludovico
  • Options
    pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,698 moderator
    edited April 23, 2008