Options

First portrait help

Grumpy_oneGrumpy_one Registered Users Posts: 242 Major grins
edited April 30, 2008 in Technique
I'll be assisting our neighbor's high school daughter doing portrait's at the school auction. There will be a back drop available to use. I have never done a portrait so I'm scouring for 'how to's'. A buddy has portable strobes, I'm going to ask to borrow/rent them. I need the ABC's of doing portraits for my own benifit and not look like a complete noob helping our neighbors daughter. I offered my epuipment: Canon 20D, EFS 17-85 4-5.6, 50 1.8 II, 580EX, Manfrotto 3233 with 410 geared head. I'll be there at the auction anyway, but I don't have a problem turning my stuff loose. So I need some quick help. She's taking some photo classes at her school and she volunteered to do portraits and email them to the parents for free. I'm only guessing there won't be any pro's there. Thanks for the help. Cheers
5D3, 7D, 50 1.4, 580EX, EFS 70-200L 2.8 IS MkI, 1.4x TC, 24-70 MKII, 85 1.8,(that's it ...for now)
http://www.happyvalleyphotography.com

Comments

• Options
    Scott_QuierScott_Quier Registered Users Posts: 6,524 Major grins
    edited April 28, 2008
    Here's the quick and dirty:
    • Seperate your subject from the background to throw the background out of focus (OOF)
    • Set one light 45 degrees off the camera-subject line and up a bit
    • Set second light close to the camera-subject line. This is the fill and should be 1 to 1.5 stops less powerful than the first.
    • Put umbrellas/softboxes on both
    • Check white balance and set camera accordingly
    • If you have a third light and a boom, put that on the hair with a snoot or barndoors
    • Set your lights and aperture stopped down 1 stop from wide open.
  • Options
    pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,698 moderator
    edited April 29, 2008
    Scott, that's it in a nutshell!
    Pathfinder - www.pathfinder.smugmug.com