Controlling depth of field

SystemSystem Registered Users Posts: 8,186 moderator
edited April 30, 2008 in Holy Macro
Hi, I'm new to this whole macro thing in that I have never used a "true" macro lens for macro style photography. Generally in the past I've used a long zoom lens to get close to small subjects. Recently I've purchased a Canon 100mm EF Macro lens and have been playing with it's very close focusing abilities.

I'm having some trouble with the depth of field when I'm close focusing on a subject. I'm using a Canon ring flash and a 40D body with a tripod.

What I'm wondering is if there is a depth of field guide out there somewhere that will help me learn the more complex aperature/focusing distance/DOF relationship with a true macro lens?

Comments

• silversx80silversx80 Registered Users Posts: 604 Major grins
    edited April 28, 2008
    - Joe
    http://silversx80.smugmug.com/
    Olympus E-M5, 12-50mm, 45mm f/1.8
    Some legacy OM lenses and an OM-10
  • GOLDENORFEGOLDENORFE Super Moderators Posts: 4,747 moderator
    edited April 28, 2008
    Hi MagicKiwi, iv got that lens, the pics in my butterfly eyes post were all taken at f6-f9 single shots,no focus stacking.
    always try to focus on the eyes,thats the main focal point of the subject. you dont realy need to go lower than f11.
    manual focus much better than auto!
    post some photos soon,we can comment better then.
    phil.
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/goldenorfe/
  • SystemSystem Registered Users Posts: 8,186 moderator
    edited April 28, 2008
    GOLDENORFE wrote:
    Hi MagicKiwi, iv got that lens, the pics in my butterfly eyes post were all taken at f6-f9 single shots,no focus stacking.
    always try to focus on the eyes,thats the main focal point of the subject. you dont realy need to go lower than f11.
    manual focus much better than auto!
    post some photos soon,we can comment better then.
    phil.
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/goldenorfe/