Upgrading from a 10D, Nikon or Canon?

robscomputerrobscomputer Registered Users Posts: 326 Major grins
edited May 6, 2008 in Cameras
Hello,

I've been shooting with my Canon 10D since 2005, and really running into some performance issues. I was set on buying a 40D but then thinking that I could go with Nikon or Canon, since I don't have a large kit.

Here's a list of my biggest problems with the 10D.

1) Noise - Camera is pretty much set to 100ISO all of the time. Anything above will get too much noise and 1600ISO is just way too much.

2) Buffer - I shoot RAW and when taking single pictures isn't bad but on motordrive it's really bad. I wait about 2 minutes between 7 shots before I can take the next 7.

3) Viewfinder - I wear glasses and the little view finder of the 10D is sometimes difficult to view from especially when the camera is at a funny angle or on a tripod.

I take mostly landscape and some action, and really like wide angle lens. So I was thinking I could go with the Canon 40D, and the 10-22, but at that price, it's close to the price of the Canon 5D (just use my current 17-40mm).

Another choice was going to Nikon D300? I heard that Nikon has better flashes than Canon?

Any comments or suggestions are welcome!
Enjoying photography since 1980.

Comments

• claudermilkclaudermilk Registered Users Posts: 2,756 Major grins
    edited May 2, 2008
    Well, anything you get that's current will leave your 10D in the dust. Just the nature of the beast (the current bodies will leave my 20D behind for he most part, too).

Nikon does have a better-thought-out flash system. I'll leave any further debate to the experts--my knowledge is limited to occasional use of a 580 on auto.

If you are going to switch it sounds like this is the time with a small kit. Once you get more heavily invested in lenses & other proprietary accessories it becomes painful.
  • swintonphotoswintonphoto Registered Users Posts: 1,664 Major grins
    edited May 2, 2008
    Hello,