Used Canon camera question

mrcoonsmrcoons Registered Users Posts: 653 Major grins
edited May 14, 2008 in Cameras
Today my primary camera is a Canon 40D and I am extremely happy with it. My back up is a Canon 350D (XT) which I am not as happy with. The smallish size of the camera was never a problem until I got the 40D, now I feel odd holding it and forget putting a long zoom on it now! :huh Plus the view finder size and slower AF speed are problems.

So I am considering a used 30D (8.2 megapixel) or a used 1D (4.1 megapixel).

The 30D is going to be similar in size and weight to the 40D so it will be familiar feeling and require less consious thought - or that is my hope anyway. The 1D would be larger and heavier but I don't think that will be an issue for me. The up size of the 1D is the larger sensor (1.3). I could see using the 1D to do the bilk of my portrait shots with.

I guess my major issue with the 1D is the megapixel size. I've never printed anything larger than 8x10 and certainly never sold anything bigger than that either. So will I even notice the difference?

Any reason to go with the 30D over the 1D? :scratch

Comments

• NikonsandVstromsNikonsandVstroms Registered Users Posts: 990 Major grins
    edited May 5, 2008
    I don't have much experience with Canon but in general, especially when talking about their early digital SLR there were many huge leaps in technology. So I would definitely advise for the 30D for that reason, and also a 4.2 megapixel sensor is really small no matter how nice of the body it is in limiting the size of prints and even at 8 x 10 the 30 D will be much more forgiving in how you shoot (you'll be able to crop and/or use higher ISO settings)
  • 20DNoob20DNoob Registered Users Posts: 318 Major grins
    edited May 5, 2008
    From what I've seen regarding 1D prints you'll have zero issues knocking out 8x10 pints all day long.