Maybe some help on group shots?

DI-JoeDI-Joe Registered Users Posts: 368 Major grins
edited May 10, 2008 in Technique
So I feel I'm a decent photographer but I think one area I could use a bit of help in is group shots where folks tend not to be on the same focal plane. Is the solution just to stop down my lens and widen my depth of field or do I have them move into a nice plane? hahah. The more people the bigger the PITA it turns out to be.

What do you all normally do when dealing with group shots such as those you'd often find at Weddings? For the most part, I've gotten by by getting lucky and fixing some in photoshop using Focus Magic layers but that's a pain as well and I'd rather just get it right in-camera and not tool around unecessarily in photoshop.

What's the standard? Is there one? Am I the only one that has problems with groups and keeping everyone in focus when they're layered up(more than one row)?
Modus Imagery
Moving away from photography and into cinema. PM me if you have questions about DSLR workflow or production questions.
Film Reel: http://vimeo.com/19955876

Comments

• ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 24,065 moderator
    edited May 6, 2008
    Yes, it's a potential problem that needs to be addressed by being understood.

It's all about the DOF and that can vary according to the way the group is composed, as well as the number in the group.

As a general rule, I tend to use f4 for formals of one or two rows of individuals, but I will also use f5.6 for two rows of any breadth.

For groups with 3 or more rows I try to gain some height to help reduce the DOF required by getting me closer to the "plane" of heads. This tactic of height also helps seperate the heads somewhat, but complicates lighting and stands. Still you might need f8 or even f11 for deep compositions.