Options

Yellow Rose of Texas

slpollettslpollett Registered Users Posts: 1,198 Major grins
edited May 8, 2008 in Other Cool Shots
A co-worker received some yellow roses (her favorite flower) and asked me to take a few pictures for her. I happily obliged!

I'm no pro, so the lighting in the office presented quite a challenge for me--daylight coming in through a large window, fluorescent bulbs overhead, and bright white walls! (Shudder!) I tried my best with my flash attachment and a reflector, but I definitely could use some lighting lessons or mentoring!

Anyway, thanks for looking and any tips and/or cc are welcome!

1. I know the bottom of this picture is a little dark, but I like it anyway.
448132872_MBjZN-M.jpg

2. 291037744_u36Jf-L.jpg

3. 291037345_8dfqw-L.jpg

4.291038005_gez6p-L.jpg

Thanks again for looking.

Sherry
http://psphotos.smugmug.com/Sherry%20Shots

Comments

• Options
    DaddyODaddyO Registered Users Posts: 4,466 Major grins
    edited May 7, 2008
    I think you did a fine job capturing these images under difficult lighting.
    Thoughtful compositions, nice color, sharp. Nice control of DOF.

Could be that I could use some lessons from you on how to use my flash.
    :D
    Michael
    Michael
  • Options
    samsplacesamsplace Registered Users Posts: 144 Major grins
    edited May 7, 2008
    Hi

I ran into the same problem. I went out and purchased a black card bord background from a local office supply for $1, then set my flash to fluorescent setting. Try it the next time.

I like the third shot the best.

Gilclap.gif
    Take Nothing But Memories:rofl
    Kill Nothing But Time :clap
    Leave Nothing But Footprints :thumb

http://www.samsplacephotos.com
  • Options
    Scott_QuierScott_Quier Registered Users Posts: 6,524 Major grins
    edited May 7, 2008
    +1 the above - I think you did a wonderful job on these.