Attempt on portrait with Photoshop + Portraiture

VanquizVanquiz Registered Users Posts: 199 Major grins
edited May 8, 2008 in People
Im planning about taking a portrait job by next year, so, I have about a year to learn about shooting, lighting, and editing. This is my first try playing for portrait photo with Photoshop + Portaiture, just something I did last night, to try to achieve a studio photo looks.

Comments, critics, suggestions, tips and tricks to achieve that studio photo looks is greatly appreciated.

Before
279104050_tpJDv-L.jpg

After
291188818_YoEkK-L-1.jpg

Comments

• NikolaiNikolai Registered Users Posts: 19,035 Major grins
    edited May 7, 2008
    Vanquiz wrote:
    Im planning about taking a portrait job by next year, so, I have about a year to learn about shooting, lightning, and editing. This is my first try playing for portrait photo with Photoshop + Portaiture, just something I did last night, to try to achieve a studio photo looks.
    Pros:
    • Nice compo
    • Good cleanup job
    • Pretty model
    • Good angle
    Cons:
    • Background distracts
    • Lighting is blah
    HTH
    "May the f/stop be with you!"
  • IcebearIcebear Registered Users Posts: 4,015 Major grins
    edited May 7, 2008
    As an exercise in cleaning up skin, I'd say you did well.
    As an exercise in making your model look like she's having her best day, I think you went way too far.

In my opinion, there's a big line between removing zits and "temporary" blemishes, and erasing freckles, and other permanent features of a person's skin. Unless your subject specifically requests this treatment, I would never presume to do it. Seems to me that, in effect, you're saying to your model that their natural appearance is deficient.

Sure, it's all a matter of degree, but I think you went too far. YMMV.
    John :
    Natural selection is responsible for every living thing that exists.
    D3s, D500, D5300, and way more glass than the wife knows about.