First Volleyball Photos

mrobertsonmrobertson Registered Users Posts: 11 Big grins
edited June 29, 2008 in Sports
I'm relatively new to the phtography scene, having only bought my first DSLR this year, but i have always been interested in it so i want to capture some of the things that i love. Volleyball has been my sport for the passed 5 or 6 years, playing in the State league competition down in Victoria, Australia. So i thought now is the perfect time to start taking some shots of the volleyball since i'm out this year to overcome an ongoing injury.
Here are the first shots i took of my team this year. These are using the Nikon D80 with 50mm 1.8 lens. Dont think anyone would like me using the flash so i have to get by without it...

C&C welcome!

vball1jl5.jpg

vball3fs3.jpg

vball2ip2.jpg

vball4fd3.jpg
Michael from Melbourne :thumb

www.mjrphoto.com.au

Comments

• vt1122vt1122 Registered Users Posts: 190 Major grins
    edited May 13, 2008
    Michael,
    You Have some excellent shots there. It looks like the lighting is a lot better than I am used to. Wondering what settings you used and what white balance?
  • mrobertsonmrobertson Registered Users Posts: 11 Big grins
    edited May 14, 2008
    vt1122 wrote:
    Michael,
    You Have some excellent shots there. It looks like the lighting is a lot better than I am used to. Wondering what settings you used and what white balance?
    thanks david clap.gif

settings are:
    1st: 1/400 at F1.8, ISO 640
    2nd: 1/400 at F1.8, ISO 400
    3rd: 1/400 at F2.0, ISO 800
    4th: 1/500 at F1.8, ISO 1000

White balance set on auto for them all i think...
    The first 3 shots were in a new stadium, and there's a lot more light there. The last one was in the old stadium, which is connected.

I have a tournament this weekend that i'm going to, so i get plenty of action to practice with. Also a friend is letting me borrow his D3 and 70-200 lens so i'm sure i'll get some great shots :D

www.mjrphoto.com.au