Options

As sharp as I can expect from D300 with my lens?

LilyJackLilyJack Registered Users Posts: 25 Big grins
edited May 20, 2008 in Technique
Hi there,

Relatively new to dgrin although I've lurked for a little bit. Just moved from a Nikon N50 film camera (12 years old) to a D300. Big jump and I've been playing around with it for about 2 months. Getting a sharp focus has been challenging and I'm wondering if my lens is causing the issue. But keep in mind, I'm chasing around toddlers and not asking them to sit. Although to test that theroy, I took some flower shots to see if I could get sharper focus. Here are two examples. When I view them at 100%, the aren't that crystal clear sharp that I see in other photos posted here. And the digital world and D300 options are all new to me, so it could very easily be something I'm doing or not doing.

[URL="mhtml:{F48521A5-6767-4E08-A2A3-904006C1AED2}mid://00000071/!x-usc:http://www.flickr.com/photos/26534271@N04/?saved=1"]2489506800_9e4562fdd3_b.jpg

2488686233_6f72b9487b_b.jpg
[/URL]
Nikon D300
Nikon AF Nikkor 70-300mm, 1:4-5.6D
Child Photo: F9, 1/640, ISO 200
Flower: F8, 1/640, ISO 200

To me, the child picture seems to be focused just slightly in front of her face.

I read some previous threads and tested some things out. At first, I thought Dynamic 3D was the focus I wanted to use. But I think the camera "questimation" of where the toddlers are actually going to move to was not as accurate as I wanted. So now I'm using AF-S, Single.

Is the lens to slow for the focus? As I understand, the D lenses don't have a motor in them like the newer ones and therefore may not be able to keep up? This shouldn't matter with the flower though...and there appears to be nothing in sharp, sharp focus.

Is the perfectionist in me being too picky?

Thanks for all your help,
Kate

Comments

• Options
    BPerronBPerron Registered Users Posts: 464 Major grins
    edited May 14, 2008