newbie needs some direction

qsjewlqsjewl Registered Users Posts: 101 Major grins
edited May 21, 2008 in Cameras
Let me give you all a little bit of background before I just jump in and ask for your help!

[FONT=&quot]I originally found dgrin because of smugmug. I take tons of pictures of fam/friends and wanted a place to store them. I'm not a professional (I currently have a canon S3IS). I've taken some pictures for my friends of their families for holidays and they said that I should consider doing it professionally. I will be taking some classes next month and I just purchased a canon 40D with a 50mm lens.

I was wondering if you could be so kind as to tell me your thoughts about what I need next as a beginner. I know I need a flash and the guy I purchased the camera from suggested the canon 580EX II. Is this considered an off camera flash??? I've also heard good things about the Tamron 28-75. What's the difference between that one an the tamron 17-35? I don't understand what the numbers mean. (sorry for my ignorance). I'm interested in taking pictures of families, maternity pics and portraits. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. thanks for your time.
~Michele

ps. I will also be purchasing PS CS3 soon.

- I had PMed Jeff this original message and he responded but encouraged me to post in the forum so I could get additional advice from others. He allowed me to post his responses to me here as well. I have posted them below.

[/FONT]

Comments

• qsjewlqsjewl Registered Users Posts: 101 Major grins
    edited May 15, 2008
    This is Jeff's response:

Your S3IS is a very good point/shoot type camera. I bought one of these awhile back for the youth group at church and was impressed with it. Anyway it has a 12x Zoom.....or at least "something followed by an X. The equivelent of that on a 35mm camera would be 36-432mm focal length....at least according to the litature I am able to find.