A little Photoshop practice.

jsmileyjsmiley Registered Users Posts: 222 Major grins
edited May 17, 2008 in Other Cool Shots
I took this picture last week and decided that I would try to remove it from the background and place it only American flag.
Not as easy as you would think at least not for me. C&C please:scratch bick.jpg

Comments

• jsmileyjsmiley Registered Users Posts: 222 Major grins
    edited May 16, 2008
    This is what I started with.
    bick2.jpg
  • aj986saj986s Registered Users Posts: 1,100 Major grins
    edited May 16, 2008
    I'm not an expert, but a bit sloppy around the bottom of the front wheel, and some other fringes. Did you manualy try to paint out the background?
    www.photoshopcafe.com has a bunch of pretty cool tutorials. This one in particular deals with masking a complicated background:
    http://www.photoshopcafe.com/tutorials/masking/masking.htm

Also, I find the eagle's eye beneath the handlebar to be a distraction.
    Tony P.
    Canon 50D, 30D and Digital Rebel (plus some old friends - FTB and AE1)
    Long-time amateur.....wishing for more time to play
    Autocross and Track junkie
    tonyp.smugmug.com
  • RichardRichard Administrators, Vanilla Admin Posts: 19,952 moderator
    edited May 16, 2008
    I know how much work is required for this sort of thing so I am reluctant to be too critical. Nevertheless, I agree with Tony's observations. A couple of other comments. I would have used a different flag shot. You can see a lot of sharpening artifacts around the top edge, as if it had been upsized considerably. I also would have worked a bit more on the windscreen, so that the background comes through it more convincingly. The devil is in the details in composites.

If you haven't already seen it, Katrin Eismann's book Photoshop Masking and Compositing is a comprehensive reference on the subject. It is well worth your time.

Regards,
  • black mambablack mamba Registered Users Posts: 8,323 Major grins