2nd Attempt Added to Original Post: C&C requested

SystemSystem Registered Users Posts: 8,186 moderator
edited May 21, 2008 in People
This is my first C and C post. I welcome all feedback as I am a newbie to photoshop and need all the practice I can get. The images below are of my baby girl. The first is straight out of the camera and the second is after a few adjustments in CS3.

BTW: what I was trying to accomplish was to remove some of the dirtiness of the picture and give her a kind of angelic look.

Steps I took:

1. Levels adjustment
2. Curves adjustment
3. Hue's and saturation adjustment (toned yellows done)
4. Photo filter (warming filter 81a)
5. dodged and burned the eyes
6. Flatten image
7. Filter -> distort _> diffuse glow
8. erase diffuse glow around and including her
9. clone and heal to pull the dirt out of the slide
10. photo filter (warming 85b)

Straight from Camera:

269036327_WqufE-L-1.jpg

First photoshop attempt:

298218109_5yCoT-L.jpg

2nd photoshop attempt after valued C&C: Opinions requested!!

same process as first attempt removing the diffuse glow effect and paying more attention to fine tuning details
Added a causian blur.

299054977_54h8c-L-1.jpg

Thanks for looking

Comments

• jeffreaux2jeffreaux2 Registered Users Posts: 4,762 Major grins
    edited May 20, 2008
    Two comments.

1- The watermark is a big distraction.

2- The photo appears to have been heavily photoshopped. Was that your goal...to make the photo appear as though it were heavily altered?
  • SystemSystem Registered Users Posts: 8,186 moderator
    edited May 20, 2008
    watermark removed
    Sorry about the watermarks, they are gone now.

I wasn't nessecarily looking to make it appear as if it had been heavily photoshopped.