40D error "Cannot Create Folder"

David_S85David_S85 Spotter of Dgrin Spam and OdditiesChicagolandPosts: 11,576Administrators moderator
edited May 23, 2008 in Cameras
New 40D. New 4GB Sandisk Extreme III CF card.

Camera seemed to be working great but then this happens...

I turn off the camera, take the battery out, put the same or any other battery back in and turn the camera back on.

Main LCD on back displays
!

Cannot create folder

The top LCD also blinks Full for a CF card warning. The card wasn't anywhere full.

Can't take a picture anymore. Camera won't respond. :dunno

File numbering is on Continuous. Anyone have a clue what is causing this?

Thus far, to correct this situation I have to turn the camera off, yank the CF card out, put it back in, and turn the camera back on. Hardly convenient if there's a battery switch.
My Smugmug
"You miss 100% of the shots you don't take" - Wayne Gretzky

Comments

  • RichardRichard Mildly bemused Madrid, SpainPosts: 17,749Administrators, Vanilla Admin moderator
    edited May 22, 2008
    David_S85 wrote:
    New 40D. New 4GB Sandisk Extreme III CF card.

    Camera seemed to be working great but then this happens...

    I turn off the camera, take the battery out, put the same or any other battery back in and turn the camera back on.

    Main LCD on back displays


    The top LCD also blinks Full for a CF card warning. The card wasn't anywhere full.

    Can't take a picture anymore. Camera won't respond. ne_nau.gif

    File numbering is on Continuous. Anyone have a clue what is causing this?

    Thus far, to correct this situation I have to turn the camera off, yank the CF card out, put it back in, and turn the camera back on. Hardly convenient if there's a battery switch.

    What happens if you use a different card?
  • David_S85David_S85 Spotter of Dgrin Spam and Oddities ChicagolandPosts: 11,576Administrators moderator
    edited May 22, 2008
    Richard wrote:
    What happens if you use a different card?

    Stand by.....

    OK, I had to copy some files off a card.

    I keep an older Sandisk UltraII 512MB card around for emergencies and firmware updates. Placed that in there, shot a couple. Turned camera off, took battery out - replaced battery, turned camera back on, and..... Wouldn't you know it - worked just fine.

    Canon 40D + Sandisk ExtremeIII cards = Bad mix.
    My Smugmug
    "You miss 100% of the shots you don't take" - Wayne Gretzky
  • David_S85David_S85 Spotter of Dgrin Spam and Oddities ChicagolandPosts: 11,576Administrators moderator
    edited May 22, 2008
    Canon 40D firmware 1.0.8 deal.gif
    My Smugmug
    "You miss 100% of the shots you don't take" - Wayne Gretzky
  • RichardRichard Mildly bemused Madrid, SpainPosts: 17,749Administrators, Vanilla Admin moderator
    edited May 22, 2008
    David_S85 wrote:
    Canon 40D firmware 1.0.8 deal.gif

    Sorry David, maybe I haven't had enough coffee yet...does this mean that updating the firmware to 1.0.8 fixed the problem with the Extreme III card?
  • David_S85David_S85 Spotter of Dgrin Spam and Oddities ChicagolandPosts: 11,576Administrators moderator
    edited May 22, 2008
    Richard wrote:
    Sorry David, maybe I haven't had enough coffee yet...does this mean that updating the firmware to 1.0.8 fixed the problem with the Extreme III card?

    Unfortunately no. 1.0.8 is the newest and came with the cam. Perhaps it is producing the error.
    My Smugmug
    "You miss 100% of the shots you don't take" - Wayne Gretzky
  • RichardRichard Mildly bemused Madrid, SpainPosts: 17,749Administrators, Vanilla Admin moderator
    edited May 22, 2008
    David_S85 wrote:
    Unfortunately no. 1.0.8 is the newest and came with the cam. Perhaps it is producing the error.

    Hmm...have you tried reformatting the card in the camera?
  • David_S85David_S85 Spotter of Dgrin Spam and Oddities ChicagolandPosts: 11,576Administrators moderator
    edited May 22, 2008
    Richard wrote:
    Hmm...have you tried reformatting the card in the camera?

    Yes I have. Just ain't working.
    My Smugmug
    "You miss 100% of the shots you don't take" - Wayne Gretzky
  • ziggy53ziggy53 Still learnin'still lovin Posts: 18,887Super Moderators moderator
    edited May 22, 2008
    Here are the Rob Galbraith tests for memory in a Canon 40D using firmware 1.0.8:

    http://www.robgalbraith.com/bins/camera_multi_page.asp?cid=6007-9257

    He also posts the following note for the Extreme III:

    "In early 2008, SanDisk revamped its Extreme III CompactFlash line. The cards marked "Extreme III (2008)" in the table feature a redesigned controller and faster flash memory than previous Extreme III. The new Extreme IIIs can be identified from older Extreme IIIs by the "30MB/s" labeling on the card and packaging of the new version."

    I suggect contacting both Canon and Sandisk for clarification and possible compatibility issues.

    I could not find any Internet-wide examples of incompatibilty with the 40D and the Sandisk 4G Extreme III of any date so I suspect this individual card.
    ziggy53
    Moderator of the Cameras and Accessories forums
  • David_S85David_S85 Spotter of Dgrin Spam and Oddities ChicagolandPosts: 11,576Administrators moderator
    edited May 23, 2008
    Thanks, Ziggy. Then what I have is the newer card. Hmmmm. headscratch.gif


    I have an identical thread over at FM on this, and there's several suggesting I just format the card in my computer. OK. How does that help me in the field? So I think I call B&H this morning and ask them what's up.
    My Smugmug
    "You miss 100% of the shots you don't take" - Wayne Gretzky
Sign In or Register to comment.