Choosing Camera

One Eye BlackOne Eye Black Registered Users Posts: 5 Beginner grinner
edited June 8, 2008 in Cameras
Dear Forum Members!

Can anybody recommend me a good starter DSLR w/ a Macro Lens. I'm new to photography and do not want to buy anything overkill to start off with, i'm gonna save those $ on a pro camera when the time comes.

I'm considering the Nikon D40.

Thanks!

Comments

• swintonphotoswintonphoto Registered Users Posts: 1,664 Major grins
    edited May 26, 2008
    If you are looking for a great setup for a great price, the best options in my opinion would be:

Olympus E-410, E-420, E-510, or E-520
    or
    Nikon D40
    or
    Canon 400D
    or
    Panasonic, Pentax & Sony have some good options as well.

I am an Olympus user so I can speak more about those. But if you want an affordable DSLR the prices on the Oly's are great. The E-410 body only is less than $400 some places right now because the E-420 just got released and there are only minor upgrades.
    You could get the E-410 with a standard zoom lens and a telephoto zoom lens in a 2-lens kit for just over $500. You could then get a macro lens all for about $200. You really can't beat that price. Can do the same thing with the E-510 for about $100 more (I use the E-510 and love it - I actually run my photo studio with it).
    Or if you don't mind just working with one lens you could just get the camera body by itself and just get the macro lens. I use the 35mm macro all the time and it would do very well as an all around prime lens.
  • ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 24,079 moderator
    edited May 26, 2008
    One Eye Black, welcome to the Digital Grin. clap.gif

Almost all of the current camera bodies from almost any manufacturer can provide excellent image quality nowdays.