Lens choices.....help!!

Big MikeBig Mike Registered Users Posts: 31 Big grins
edited May 28, 2008 in Cameras
For my first post I figured I would ask for some advice on lenses. Currently I am using a Canon 40d with the 24-105mm f/4L lens. That is the only lens I have. I am no pro, but I generally take portraits for family members for fun and I like to shoot sports as well. With my current lens I don’t have the reach I would like to have for sports and I don’t know if my current lens is a good lens for portraits – though I think it is probably a good general purpose lens for walking around.

Now, on to my specific questions….

1 – Would going with the 17-55mm f/2.8 and the 85mm 1.8 be better for portraits and general purpose than my current setup?
2 – This is the question I am having the hardest time finding an answer for. I am looking at the Canon 70-200mm f/4L IS and the f/2.8 non is. Which one should I go for if I plan on using it at times for portraits, but generally for sports more than anything else. I know IS is great, but if I am shooting at 1/200 and higher, does the IS really make a difference? Or, instead of both of these lenses, should I go with the 70-300 f/4-5.6 IS lens?

If you cannot tell, I am little confused on what to do……:scratch

Thanks in advance for the advice!!

Comments

• claudermilkclaudermilk Registered Users Posts: 2,756 Major grins
    edited May 27, 2008
    What sports? 200mm (or 320mm effictive) may not be long enough for some.

I find both my 70-200/2.8 non-IS and my 24-70/2.8 to be excellent portrait lenses. Your 24-105 should be perfectly fine for that purpose. Personally I wouldn't worry about the 17-55 unless you're encountering some trouble with the range in your current lens. If you want to go wider, I'd suggest looking at the Canon 10-22, or Tokina 12-24/4 or 11-6/2.8.
  • Big MikeBig Mike Registered Users Posts: 31 Big grins
    edited May 27, 2008
    What sports? 200mm (or 320mm effictive) may not be long enough for some.