My niece and nephew - C&C please - I can take it!

Big MikeBig Mike Registered Users Posts: 31 Big grins
edited May 27, 2008 in People
Here are a couple pictures of Sara and Davis (my niece and nephew) that I took back a few weeks ago. I am still learning about how to take pictures with the sun in the right place and pictures that don't look "snapshotish." So, go ahead and let me have it so I can improve :ivar

1. Sara

IMG_2783b-1.jpg

2. Davis

IMG_2771.jpg

Comments

• SwartzySwartzy Registered Users Posts: 3,293 Major grins
    edited May 27, 2008
    Welcome Mike.

Posting them a bit bigger will help for us to see (getting old ya know..Laughing.gif). The first one: her smile is a bit forced....doesn't look natural and overall, takes away from the composition, mood and other components of a nice portrait. The lighting is ok without any detrimental elements (technically). You may have some others on the card that are better.

The second: Lovely. His hair is blown out (highlights) which you already know. Sunlight is a tough work around, especially when doing shots on the fly. There is no time for scrims, relectors, etc. on shots like this. I think you did well. The processing would help add a bit of pop, a touch of contrast if you will.

Keep shooting!thumb.gif
    Swartzy:
    NAPP Member | Canon Shooter
    Weddings/Portraits and anything else that catches my eye.
    www.daveswartz.com
    Model Mayhem site http://www.modelmayhem.com/686552
  • Big MikeBig Mike Registered Users Posts: 31 Big grins
    edited May 27, 2008
    Swartzy wrote:
    Welcome Mike.

Posting them a bit bigger will help for us to see (getting old ya know..Laughing.gif). The first one: her smile is a bit forced....doesn't look natural and overall, takes away from the composition, mood and other components of a nice portrait. The lighting is ok without any detrimental elements (technically). You may have some others on the card that are better.