The Andromeda Galaxy

crashmastercrashmaster Registered Users Posts: 37 Big grins
edited May 29, 2008 in Other Cool Shots
Hi everyone. I'm new to dgrin and learning my way around a Canon 40D, my first real daylight camera. I dont have any shots worthy of posting yet. Although I am quite new to daylight photography, my interest is mainly astrophotography and thought I would share this image I took that was recently published in Sky and Telescope. I realize there are many dedicated astro forums but thought you might like to have a look at this shot to see some of what is possible with a small telescope and an astronomy dedicated CCD camera. I stumbled on this site at the recommendation of fellow inmates over at advrider. Man there is a wealth of knowledge here and some awesome photographers! I look forward to developing my daylight skill with the help of all of you, thanks.

This image was shot with an STL-11000M CCD camera, Astrophysics 105 EDF refractor riding on an Astrophysics 900 GTO mount. An RGB shot of 120 minutes per channel, 6 minute subexposures. Calibrated in MaxIm DL, aligned in registar, combined in Sigma, and processed in PS CS. This is the closest large spiral galaxy to our own Milky Way and at 2.2 million light years distant, is visible tothe naked eye under dark skies in the constellation Andromeda.
Canon 40D
SBIG STL-11000
Alta U16M

Comments

• RichardRichard Administrators, Vanilla Admin Posts: 19,952 moderator
    edited May 28, 2008
    It was shot with an STL-11000M CCD camera, Astrophysics 105 EDF refractor riding on an Astrophysics 900 GTO mount. An RGB shot of 120 minutes per channel, 6 minute subexposures. Calibrated in MaxIm DL, aligned in registar, combined in Sigma, and processed in PS CS.
    Hi crashmaster and welcome to Dgrin. wave.gif I confess that I don't understand the first thing about astrophotography, but that sure sounds complicated and expensive. :D As for the pic, it is simply awesome. :ivar Looking forward to seeing more.