1st attempt with off camera flash!!!

jbakerphotojbakerphoto Registered Users Posts: 251 Major grins
edited May 31, 2008 in People
Well I just got a optical slave from adorama for a second flash (vivitar 283) that I picked up on craigslist. I figured this would be a decent option until radiopopper jr come out.

So I really like the way the strobist has been doing his portriats where he darkens the scene by 2 stops or so and then points a snooted flash straight at the subject and fires away. This is my first attempt at it. I turned down my on camera 580 ex to 1/128 and pointed it directly at my other flash with the optical slave which was right in front of my subject. Of course the portriats are of my son as he is my most willing (and best) subject.

Here they are.....

1.)

1/4000
iso 100
f 10
i98EAD56A-1A7D-40BF-A858-0A80DA771C1F.jpg

2.)

f 7.1
iso 100
1/4000
i93D71156-1AE4-491A-A34C-5E94A3332C10.jpg

3.)

i9E1E4ECB-C676-49AB-AD7D-2BFFB8C3D26E.jpg

4.)

iE9774D3C-F24D-47B2-A05F-A4D7278C4A61.jpg

c&c welcome.
40D,Rebel XT,Tamron 17-50 2.8,Tamron 28-80 3.5-5.6, Canon 50 1.8, Sigma 70-200 2.8, Canon 580EX , Sunpack 383 w/ optical slave

www.jonbakerphotography.com

Comments

• MarkWMarkW Registered Users Posts: 72 Big grins
    edited May 31, 2008
    Not a bad first attempt. I know your son was your only subject available at the time but I don't think the snooted flash is flattering him at the moment.

The first shot appears a bit underexposed.

The second shot is close to being overexposed on the arm.

The third and fourth images appear to be the best exposures.

Now for the technical stuff. If you're shooting with off a manual off camera flash your max sync for your shutter is going to be between 1/200 to 1/250 depending on your camera model. If you use faster shutter speeds you will get black bands cutting off parts of the left or right of your images. So drop your shutter speed to properly sync your off flash to the camera.