Portrait shots to Improve

canon400dcanon400d Banned Posts: 2,826 Major grins
edited June 6, 2008 in People
I am learning taking portrait shots and I would appreciate if anyone can give me any advice. I took these shots with a 40D and at 2.8 and ISO at 400. I am looking forward to all kinds of c and c.
Regards
Bob
306769846_2absF-L.jpg
306769885_NXzKj-L.jpg
306769863_86FGq-L.jpg

Comments

• lisaplisap Registered Users Posts: 294 Major grins
    edited June 4, 2008
    Hi Bob. I'm still learning myself, so not sure how helpful I'll be.

Out of the 3 I like the first one best. I find the lighting on the left of #2 and #3 to be too bright. Maybe it needed to be difused with something? Also, in #3 I would have liked to see the gentleman's eyes open.

-- Lisa P.
  • Moogle PepperMoogle Pepper Registered Users Posts: 2,950 Major grins
    edited June 4, 2008
    They are all very centered. and the 2nd and 3rd ones look like they just washed their face before you took their shots! Also the light in those two coming from their right is kinda distracting.

Definitely a good start!
    Food & Culture.
    www.tednghiem.com
  • beetle8beetle8 Registered Users Posts: 677 Major grins
    edited June 4, 2008
    keep reading and practicing,
    what you have here are some great expressions and thats a great start.
  • SwartzySwartzy Registered Users Posts: 3,293 Major grins
    edited June 4, 2008
    First rules to consider: Focus, exposure, custom white balance, composition. Get these 4 corrected at time of shooting and before you know it, a nice portrait appears.
    Swartzy:
    NAPP Member | Canon Shooter
    Weddings/Portraits and anything else that catches my eye.
    www.daveswartz.com
    Model Mayhem site http://www.modelmayhem.com/686552
  • canon400dcanon400d Banned Posts: 2,826 Major grins
    edited June 5, 2008
    Swartzy wrote: