Options

Flash & Fill Flash - serious help needed.

saltydogsaltydog Registered Users Posts: 243 Major grins
edited July 2, 2008 in Technique
Hi Dgrinners,

I am almost exclusively an "available light" shooter and hate on-camera flash in particular, so even after all these years I feel like a complete newbie when it comes to flash. This afternoon I tried to shoot something where I could have used some fill flash. Unfortunately I cannot find my manual (I am using a Nikon D70) and the flash settings are a mystery to me. Here are some of my many questions:

1) I don't have any setting on my camera that is called "fill flash" per se. I do have something where I can reduce flash output to 1/2, 1/4 etc. Is that what is commonly meant by fill flash?

2) I shot in aperture priority and reduced flash output by 1/2 with absolutely no visible effect or discernable difference (the object I was shooting was about 5 feet away). It seemed that my camera simply compensated by a longer shutter speed, unfortunately I cannot confirm this because I deleted the shots from my card and didn't pay attention at the time.

3) Only when I set everything to fully manually and stopped down the aperture by one stop did I finally see an effect - now the image was simply completely underexposed in the background and the foreground had ugly noticeable flash lighting in it. What I am trying to accomplish is a rather subtle brightening of a shadowy area. What am I doing wrong?

4) Can anybody explain to me what the flash mode "rear curtain" (or/and rear curtain sync") means and when I would use it?