Options

Good concert camera?

arrrggghhharrrggghhh Registered Users Posts: 3 Beginner grinner
edited March 21, 2005 in Cameras
Hello! I am new to the world of photography and have been having a great time taking my camera to concerts. I have a Olympus D-560 and it, at times, produces great results. However, due to the lack of a manual shutter, keeps me from getting good photos at some venues. I was wondering if anyone here could recommend a good "concert" camera, possibly one that would require me to use the flash as little as possible, if at all. Also, the cheaper the better! Thanks for your time!

Comments

• Options
    ian408ian408 Administrators Posts: 21,913 moderator
    edited April 3, 2004
    arrrggghhh wrote:
    Hello! I am new to the world of photography and have been having a great time taking my camera to concerts. I have a Olympus D-560 and it, at times, produces great results. However, due to the lack of a manual shutter, keeps me from getting good photos at some venues. I was wondering if anyone here could recommend a good "concert" camera, possibly one that would require me to use the flash as little as possible, if at all. Also, the cheaper the better! Thanks for your time!
    Canon S50. Complete with full on manual. All black.

But then what are your expectations? Do you want close ups? Something
    with an interchangeble lens?

For starters, read a few camera reviews at www.dpreview.com.

My guess is you want small and stealthy?

Ian
    Moderator Journeys/Sports/Big Picture :: Need some help with dgrin?
  • Options
    edited April 3, 2004
    Oh, I forgot to mention that, but SMALL and STEALTHY preffered. I've been looking at the Sony DSC V1. The size seems good, plus it seems to have some low light features. I will use it for close ups mostly. An interchangeable lens would probably not work, I would still like it to fit into my pocket (or at the least my girlfriends purse). Thanks for the help!
  • Options