there has to be an easy way to organize galleries!

tj27tj27 Registered Users Posts: 3 Beginner grinner
edited June 9, 2008 in SmugMug Support
I am a new smugmug user and I am perplexed with organizing my galleries. I usually have no trouble with software so this is frustrating. :scratch Here's the scoop...

I want to sort my photos by year/month/activity. Just like I have them on my computer:

2002>July>trip to Mackinac
2002>July>Elsie's birthday
2002>October>Pumpkin Patch

I'm not a professional photog by any stretch of the imagination, I'm just a picture taking mom who wants to have her photos safely backed up and to be able to share them with rellies. It seems my only option is to identify my galleries with individual names and add the "categories"... so then I would have to search through every single "travel" notated gallery to find the trip I know happened in July 2002? I'd rather just go to 2002, then July, then the trip. I can't figure out the sub-galleries either, it's like something is eluding me. Is ShutterBug not for me? Am I missing something totally obvious? I am sleep-deprived so maybe it's just me?

Thanks,
TJ
:dunno

Comments

• PBolchoverPBolchover Registered Users Posts: 909 Major grins
    edited June 8, 2008
    Create 2002 as a category.

You can then either create subcategories for each month, or simply put the galleries directly in the year category (sorted by date) and put "July 2002" in the title.

That's exactly how I organise my photos: http://pbolchover.smugmug.com/2008
  • tj27tj27 Registered Users Posts: 3 Beginner grinner
    edited June 9, 2008
    pbolchover, thank you for your reply. Your galleries look great. However I will need something with more levels of organization. Your method seems to be

---March 2008 event 1
    ---March 2008 event 2
    ---April 2008 event 1
    ---April trip day 1
    ---April trip day 2
    ---April random photos

I need to be able to do this without tearing my hair out:

---March 2008