Options

Panoramic Color Blending

jpljpl Registered Users Posts: 96 Big grins
edited June 12, 2008 in Technique
So I made my first attempt at a panoramic shot last night (first attempt at HDR on the second one too!). I'm pretty happy with the results except for an exposure and/or color issue . If you look at both this shots you will see a color mismatch in the sky in the center of the image (well it may be too small to see here in the first image, but you should be able to see it in the second). There are rather distinct vertical lines through the sky on both sides of the largest building in the image where the color of the sky gets darker. What is strange is that these lines do NOT fall on the source image edges. My guess is that they fall where PS decided to stitch the image.

310363620_4K8td-L.jpg
Horizontal panoramic, 5 frames combined, severely cropped

310360779_9K5Bn-L.jpg
Vertical panoramic, 15 frames, 5 views of 3 exposures each, HDR, cropped

Anyway, I'm a completely PS newbie so I was hoping you guys could suggest a technique for me to blend those vertial lines out of the sky. I've tried copying the sky to another layer and adjusting it there before blending it back into the background and some other things but nothing I've done seems to make it better. So what can I do in PS to fix this?

As a secondary question, what can I do to prevent this from happening next time? I shot RAW, A mode, +1, 0, -1 exposures, F5.6. I didn't lock my WB setting but I went though the images and made sure the WB was the same on all of them before I combined them (it was). I couldn't use my AE-L function because I was shooting 3 exposures for each frame (or could I have used it)? I'm shooting a Nikon D40 so the exposure bracketing for the HDR was manual.

Comments

• Options
    David_S85David_S85 Administrators Posts: 13,209 moderator
    edited June 10, 2008
    You're on your way with these, so good on ya for beginning the pano thing.