Advice on shooting a 6 mo. old outdoors

idoteechidoteech Registered Users Posts: 145 Major grins
edited June 12, 2008 in People
I have to do some pics for a friend of her 6 mo. old. He is such a sweetheart, but I have no clue where to begin with a baby that age when I have to shoot outdoors (I don't have an indoor studio).

They have a Bumbo (which is this thing that can sit him up straight), so we will definitely use that. Any other positions??? We will be shooting late evening so the lighting should be fine, and he is a VERY happy baby.

I will be shooting with a 50mm 1.8 and my new 85mm 1.8.

Thanks!!!

Comments

• donekdonek Registered Users Posts: 655 Major grins
    edited June 12, 2008
    You may not have to shoot outdoors. In 2006 I purchased my 50 f1.4 just for the purpose of being able to shoot indoors in low light. I was a rookie when I took these, so don't be too critical. At six months, if he's not sitting up on his own, he's probably close. Maybe these will give you some ideas for poses.
    54353257_5o5bK-S.jpg

favorite toys are great and add a lot of color. White Bal off on this one though. Super low light after dark with the room lamps for light. As I said a rookie.
    54346230_csPSA-S.jpg
    mommy's likely to make him happy
    57824194_32QrV-S.jpg

When I was shooting my little girl at that age, I was always on continuous high speed burst mode. They move so fast and are so unpridictable, you just keep shooting. You're likely to have a tough time posing him, so let him play and fire away.

For more ideas, you can view my daughters 6-9 month gallery at: http://donek.smugmug.com/gallery/1164077_tiDGz#54346181_p8NH2
    Sean Martin
    www.seanmartinphoto.com

aaaaa.... who am I kidding!

whoever dies with the biggest coolest piece of glass, wins!
  • jbakerphotojbakerphoto Registered Users Posts: 251 Major grins
    edited June 12, 2008
    As the proud owner of a almost 9 month old I can tell you what I did.....