JarvoJarvo Registered Users Posts: 9 Big grins
edited June 13, 2008 in SmugMug Support
Hi All,<o:p></o:p>
<o:p> </o:p>
Newbie here … so go easy on me!!!!<o:p></o:p>
I’m after some advice.<o:p></o:p>
For some time I have been searching for the ideal solution for my requirements, however the more I search the more requirements I have. Some are more necessary than others however!
<!--[if !supportLineBreakNewLine]-->
<!--[endif]--><o:p></o:p>
Scenario:<o:p></o:p>
Firstly, I the photographs I take can be put into one of three categories:<o:p></o:p>
1) Personal – Days out, Holidays, Drinking with the boys, etc<o:p></o:p>
2) Family – Photo’s of my partner, my son and I.<o:p></o:p>
3) Photoblog (tomjarvis.com/photoblog) – These are images which I have taken, which I feel stand for themselves. They are “nice” images which I am proud of taking as a photograph rather than a snap. <o:p></o:p>
I have my own domain, and like the idea of keeping everything in one place. Previously as an IT Techie .. I have tinkered with Gallery and Coppermine, and while they are great products, they don’t 100% fit my requirements. I’ve previously suffered from failed upgrades or broken databases. <o:p></o:p>
My photoblog is currently powered by PixelPost, which is doing a great job and I am fairly pleased with.<o:p></o:p>
Requirements:<o:p></o:p>
1) The idea of managing photo’s on my PC, and adding keywords to them and then uploading to several different photo repositories is one I’d rather not do. Ideally I’d love one “online gallery” where the photos can be easily arranged and then link into my photoblog, facebook, normal blog, etc as required. Even better if I could literally arrange everything on the PC and it “syncs” new photo’s up to the online site.<o:p></o:p>
2) Own Domain - I’d prefer to keep everything under my domain name. Yes I realise I could have picasa or flickr within a frame on my website, but it just doesn’t cut it.<o:p></o:p>