Options

Help, computer turns off for no reason...

BPerronBPerron Registered Users Posts: 464 Major grins
edited June 16, 2008 in Digital Darkroom
I am not a computer expert and i do not have any computer friends...so I am hoping this is ok to post here and maybe someone can help me. My computer has been just shutting itself off lately for no reason. It shows a blue screen with text I can not read, cause it goes away to quickly and then it shuts off and tries to turn itself back on. Does anyone by any chance know what is causing this? I doubt anyone will, but I am hoping someone might.
Brandon Perron Photography
www.brandonperron.com

Comments

• Options
    marlofmarlof Registered Users Posts: 1,833 Major grins
    edited June 16, 2008
    You're probably witnessing the infamous Blue Screen of Death, the curse of the Windows World.* It can be caused by many things, ranging from defective drivers (did you install new software before this started to happen?) to defective hardware. You can read more about the BSOD at Wikipedia.

* : and yes, Macs have their own curse, the kernel panic.
    enjoy being here while getting there
  • Options
    ian408ian408 Administrators Posts: 21,919 moderator
    edited June 16, 2008
    marlof wrote:
    * : and yes, Macs have their own curse, the kernel panic.
    Effectively, the same thing.

Regardless, if you've recently installed any new software (especially a Windows
    Update), you might want to roll back or perhaps look for a fix by running the
    updater again. If you've recently installed new hardware, go back and check
    that everything is properly seated.

Lastly, windows creates dump files that this references. You might find the reason
    by reading the dump file. You can find the dump file(s) by searching for .dmp.
    Moderator Journeys/Sports/Big Picture :: Need some help with dgrin?
  • Options
    edited June 16, 2008