Talk me out of a d300?

EileronEileron Registered Users Posts: 23 Big grins
edited June 30, 2008 in Cameras
Hey there everybody,

So I've been using my D80 pretty heavily over the past year (not pro-heavy, mind you, but I've taken a good number of shots with it) and, except for an wide angle I'm about to purchase in Japan (the Tokina 11-16mm, if I can find it), I've just about finished my "d80 kit".

D80, the battery grip, Nikkor 18-55mm II, 55-200mm VR, 50mm f/1.4, and soon the Tokina.

I'm a student, so I don't have THAT much surplus income, but I get a decent bonus check (3kish) in the fall, and a smaller one in the spring - part of which goes towards living expenses and the like, but part of which I angle towards photography.

The D80's done me well, but with all the love flying around for the D300 I'm starting to get the urge to make a jump. I was originally just going to wait for an FX kit (something like the D700 sounds friendly), but 3/4 of my lenses would defeat the purpose of having an FX camera, and while I could maybe excuse the cost of the camera, I couldn't excuse the cost of the lenses.

I could rant on, but just curious for (another) set of opinions - haha, but this time, more in the opposite direction. Any thoughts?

Edit: Alternatively my photo-buddies are trying to talk me into a Canon instead, "Having both is great!" and all that. I think they just want someone to get a 40D or 5DmkII (whenever it exists) for them to toy with...

Comments

• LovesongLovesong Registered Users Posts: 56 Big grins
    edited June 22, 2008